13th Annual Shorty Awards Categories

The Shorty Awards honor the talented agencies, brands, and industry leaders behind the best and most innovative work on social media and digital channels, campaigns, websites and applications.

Nickelodeon’s Danger Force: AWOL Costume Video

Entered in Instagram Video


Highlight Danger Force’s AWOL and his costume with content that tells the story of the raised fist symbol to our audience. Educate and empower our young fans.


2020 was a year of heightened civil unrest in the face of racial inequality and injustice. In response, we wanted to highlight one of our strongest Black characters — AWOL from Nickelodeon’s Danger Force. As a powerful young Black hero, it is no coincidence that the raised fist symbol is present on his costume. Many of our young fans likely did not realize the connection or what the symbol stands for, so we knew it was important to tell the story behind it. We created a piece that brings attention to the symbol and details some of its history, specifically highlighting its use by the Black Panthers against police brutality. It was important to highlight what the symbol itself stands for - unity, strength, and resistance against oppression - down to what the color choices represent. And above all, we wanted to reinforce the incredible power that AWOL’s character and the raised fist hold. 


The video was shared on the Nickelodeon brand and Danger Force show social pages, across Instagram (feed and stories), Twitter, and Facebook. 

Fans responded positively to the content, showing their support for AWOL, Terrence Little Gardenhigh (the actor who plays him), and the show at large.


Video for Nickelodeon’s Danger Force: AWOL Costume Video

Produced by



Entry Credits

About the Shorty Awards

The Shorty Awards honor the best of social media.

Millions of people participate in The Shortys to recognize individuals and organizations producing great content on Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, Twitch, TikTok, Snapchat, and the rest of the social web.

winners have been announced. follow us to see who won!