13th Annual Shorty Awards Categories

The Shorty Awards honor the talented agencies, brands, and industry leaders behind the best and most innovative work on social media and digital channels, campaigns, websites and applications.

From the 12th Annual Shorty Awards

Aha Moments

Winner in Video Pre-Roll

Audience Honor in Video Pre-Roll

About this entry

With an eye toward PNC’s goal of becoming a national bank, our 2019 campaign focused on a key growth driver of being seen as a modern and digital bank. We developed a multi-channel campaign to deliver this message, with pre-roll OLV as a key component. It was important for us to show up strongly in digital channels; we wanted to feel like a digital bank, not just say that we are one.

Why does this entry deserve to win?

As we set out to establish our digital chops, we were fortunate to turn up plenty of products and digital tools that are truly impactful and make banking easier. Our true challenge was how to showcase the broad range of tools and tech. Our solution was to develop the Aha Moments campaign. We shot nearly 20 ‘moments’ – ranging from the everyday to the slightly absurd – each featuring an example of PNC technology. We kept the moments quick and snappy, so they lent themselves well to standalone :06 pre-roll ads or could be joined together to create :15s.


The “Aha Moments” campaign, with pre-roll as a crucial component, proved to be successful in efficiently driving traffic to our campaign landing page and improving perception of PNC as a digital bank. Upon launch, click thru rates increased by 480%! The creative also improved efficiencies in Cost per Page View and Cost per Video Complete in 2019.


Video for Aha Moments

Produced by

Deutsch, PNC


Entry Credits

About the Shorty Awards

The Shorty Awards honor the best of social media.

Millions of people participate in The Shortys to recognize individuals and organizations producing great content on Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, Twitch, TikTok, Snapchat, and the rest of the social web.

winners have been announced. follow us to see who won!